The Wonderful Wednesday Wok (And Not-So-Wonderful Stomach Bug)

So, I prepared a proper packed lunch for Jon today, as I had planned. Sadly, neither of us had planned that he’d get one of the stomach bugs that are doing the rounds. He did. He managed the potato with butter and a bit of salad before he had to quit. Fortunately, he isn’t vomiting and keeping warm seems to help. Also fortunately, my robust immune system seems to have endured whatever he’s carrying, as I’m well enough to look after him (although we’re both hoping he’ll be better for tomorrow).

 

That in mind, here’s the lunch I packed for him.

Lamb Burgers.

I decided to see how far I could stretch a 470-500g pack of minced lamb by making it into burgers. Seeing as around 100g is the minimum for how much meat should be in a meat-meal without eggs or dairy*, I settled on making 5 lamb burgers.

*I then included eggs anyway, but I was committed to making five by then.

Ingredients:

-500g minced lamb/mutton

-300g boiled/mashed potato

-2 raw eggs, beaten

-1 onion

-mint

-chives

-garlic

-paprika

-salt

-pepper

Utensils:

-1 pot or mixing bowl

-1 fork

-1 baking tray

-a willingness to get your hands messy or a rice-ball-forming device

Recipe:

1: Mash the potato.

2: Mix the potato and lamb together.

3: Add the seasoning.

4: Carefully fold in the eggs.

5: Mix until the consistency is even.

6: Take 1/5 of the mix and shape. (Ball, burger, square, Hello Kitty, whatever you fancy.)

7: Make a small indent in the top of the burger. This is so it cooks evenly and doesn’t grow a bulge in the middle.

8: Place on a lightly greased tray. Repeat for all the other burgers.

The sheer size of the beasts. My hand as reference.

The sheer size of the beasts. My hand as reference.

9: Bake in the oven at 160C for 35-50min.

10: Serve with something green.

20140120_184429

As the lamb was £2.60 for 475g, this worked out as around 60-65p/burger, including spices.

The rest of his lunch included about 300g of baked potato with 20g of butter and a salad that was a small carrot, a pepper and lamb’s lettuce. I added a Nakd bar for his pudding, as we’d got up late and I didn’t have a chance to whip together something creative.

20140122_065748

20140122_065914

 

Sadly, he only managed his break-time fruit, the potato, the Nakd bar and a few bites of salad before he felt to unwell to eat anything. Something tells me he’ll be staying home tomorrow. 😦 Any good-wishes, prayers and good-luck charms welcome.

Comments Always Appreciated. :)

