WWW AND FitFriday XVI, FatFriday III.

Rolling them all into one as I’ve been crazily busy and forgot to write the WWW.

This Wednesday we had a fish pie with white sauce and cheddar potato topping, followed by a citrus pudding.

Fish Pie.

Ingredients:

(serves 4)

-500g chopped fish of various sorts (we used smoked mackerel, cod, salmon, pollock and mussels)

-300ml single cream

-200ml milk

-300g potatoes, peeled

-50g cheddar

-20g butter

Utensils:

-baking tray

-chopping board and knife

Recipe:

1: Dice the fish into roughly equal sized pieces. Place in the tray.

2: Dust with salt, pepper and a dash of vinegar.

3: Pour the milk and cream over the top.

4: Pre-heat the oven to 200C with the fish inside as you prepare the topping.

5: Thinly slice the potatoes, rub with butter.

6: Once the oven is to temperature, remove the fish and layer the potatoes on top of the fish. Consider thickening the sauce with a little flour or rice flour first.

7: Bake until the potato is golden.

8: Add the cheese and cook until melted.

As a side note, white sauces really are a brilliant thing. They can be made intently, on the stove, to a very precise recipe or quickly, as I did here, to stew a pie mix or meat in. They are an excellent base for chowder, carbonara, cauliflower cheese, fish pie, mashed potato, etc. Simple, rich and flavourful.

white sauce

20150114_130655

Citrus Pudding.

Jon wasn’t quite so keen on this one, but maybe with a little more sugar or a banana blended in, it would suit sweeter tooths as well.

Ingredients:

-1 lime

-1 lemon

-1 orange

-200g plain flour

-100g extra thick cream

-25g sugar

Utensils:

-grater

-knife and chopping board

-mixing bowl and spoon

-blender

-greased/nonstick baking tray or ceramic oven-proof pot

Recipe:

1: Mix the dry ingredients. Grate in the zest of the fruits.

2: Stir in the cream.

3: Blend in the pulp of the fruit, careful to cut out any pith.

4: Add water until runny.

5: Bake at 200C until a skin has formed.

FitFriday.

My workouts are being reintegrated and I’m fitting in some high intensity exercises between jobs and classes, as well as some walking.

I am back at my ideal figure and keeping low carb to protect against water weight, which I’m very sensitive to accumulating when stressed.

The evening primrose oil and b-complex vitamins have been swapped for half the maximum dosage (and 1.5 times the recommended dosage) of Omega 3 oils. It seems the omegas were what I was responding to anyway. I also doubt its placebo effect as the symptoms worsen when I forget to take them before I’ve remembered I haven’t had them for a few days. All pointing towards cyclothymia, so I’ll pester the GP about that sometime soon.

I plan to eat more red meat and fish and further keep my carb intake minimal, but my stretch marks have gone red again, which means I need to up my calories to not lose any more weight. Methinks raw beef and more nuts are in order.

FatFriday.

This week the best thing I ate was organic raw minced beef. I was just craving it like crazy and it tasted amazing once I had some.

The naughtiest thing I ate was a creamy hot chocolate made largely with cream and melted chocolate squares.

I haven’t really been all that lazy this week and I can’t wait for some solid sleep tonight and a lazy-ish weekend away.

Next week plenty of veg and meat and rest.

Comments Always Appreciated. :)

