Weekend crafts.

This weekend I was going to see a relative, but the plans got thrown off by tonsilitis. So, seeing as I had cancelled all my work for the week and was determined to not overwork myself, I decided to spend this weekend crafting.

First I needed to sort the coffee table. There was nothing horribly wrong with it. But it was plain white and stained crazily easily, which is not great for a table that will have coffee on it. We also invariably forget to use coasters, so having something I could wipe clean was a must.

The only picture where I allowed the table to be seen. It was thoroughly cleaned before that meal, so no shame. :p

The only picture where I allowed the table to be seen. It was thoroughly cleaned before that meal, so no shame. :p

 

That is the original and finished design. I contemplated a lot of things for our coffee table. I even considered painting a detailed scene and setting some glass on top of it. But I didn’t want to make something I would feel too bad about parting ways with if it broke. So I settled on a boho glass pebble top.

The materials for this were a variety of glass pebbles and grout and filler plaster.

1: Arrange your pebbles by colour. That way you have an idea what you’re going to be able to do with them.

2: Clean and dry the table.

3: Mark out any spaces you want to leave. We wanted a gap for our chess board that we could slide it in and out of.

4: Little by little, spread the grout and/or plaster and place the pebbles in the right pattern.

20150119_152022

 

I ran out of pebbles so I left the middle almost bare except for some floral coasters and a few pebbles.

The finished product looks pretty awesome and should clean smoothly.

20150119_184934

 

The other thing I made was an upgraded version of my knitting loom. The original looked like this.

Ugly and efficient.

Ugly and efficient.

 

I made some pretty cool scarves on it.

20150119_193038 20150119_193048

 

But it had too few spikes, was starting to fall apart and was bulky to carry and use. So I decided to make something more portable, attractive and functional. Introducing the loom 2.0:

20150119_18542020150119_18543020150119_185441

 

 

 

Yes, that is a coat rack. I got so used to the knitting needle ends that stuck out of the back of my box that I felt I needed something to stab my wool balls onto, rest my crochet hook on and tie the loose end of wool to. So a coat hanger seemed like the natural choice. Plus, it was a ready-sanded piece of wood for 99p.

To make:

-10-100 round-end or skirting board nails

-30-100cm of wood

-a hammer

-a ruler and a marker pen

1: Use the ruler to mark the board at even places.

2: Hammer in the first three nails and last three nails at an angle. This will hold your board.

3: Hammer in the central nails deal straight, for easy weaving.

To use click here.

Comments Always Appreciated. :)

