How To… track your ovulation…

…if you’re not good at maths.

I am really, really, really focusing on this “having a baby” thing. I am surprising even myself with how much I am throwing into it and how badly I want to be pregnant ASAP. I know it may take longer than a month, but I really want to give it my all.

So, naturally, however much sex we’re having, I still want to track my ovulation and make sure we have even more on those few days.

My problem? I am rubbish at maths, and monitoring, and I’m not the most regular girl anyway. So, here are some top tips to tracking ovulation if you haven’t the time, the inclination, the obedient ovaries or the brains to work it out mathematically.

Warning for frank discussion of the nasty bits.

1: Body temperature.

You will be a bit warmer on average when you are ovulating. Not a lot, and of course being warmer could mean many things, but this could be a good secondary sign to look out for.

2: Fluids.

Don’t be afraid to just check how your natural lubricant is behaving. Egg-white-looking (translucent, jelly, stretchy) and abundant fluid means your body is trying to be nice and hospitable to any sperm that may pay a visit.

3: Count down.

Have around two weeks passed since the start of your last period? Chances are you will ovulate some time in the third week.

4: Approximate.

Was your last period on the 18th? Count back six days. Then your last ovulation was around the 12th. You will likely be ovulating around the 12th (10th-14th) this month.

5: Horny?

Finding hubby absolutely irresistible? Your mind is off all work and difficult to focus? Picking up the romance books at the library? That’s your body telling you it wants a baby.

6: Tight tummy.

In preparation for the possible zygote, your body will plump up the cushions (womb walls), get some refreshments (womb lining) and make a little space (womb filling). If your abdomen feels tight and expanded under the belly button but you don’t really, really need to pee, then your womb is ripe and ready.

7: Toilet breaks.

OTOH, if you really, really need to pee a lot, all day, there might be some swelling that is pushing on your bladder. It could be the womb swelling up, even if you can’t directly feel it yet.

8: Ask a girl in the know.

Have a close friend or coworker who religiously tracks her cycle? Know you are more or less in sync with her? Then ask away, chances are you match up there too!

9: Sticks.

And if you really despair, get yourself a little box of ovulation sticks and call it a day. All this calendar watching isn’t for everyone. :p

And that is how I am keeping an eye out for ovulation. Hopefully it’s helpful to someone.

How did/do you track your cycle? Did I miss anything?

TTFN and Happy Hunting!

4 thoughts on “How To… track your ovulation…

  1. I have an app on my phone that I plug in my days of cycle and my period and it tells me when I’m fertile. My days of ovulation are 7 days after a period. The app gives me an estimate percentage of fertility. I hope it is right as I’m trying not to get pregnant right now. I will not take hormonal birth control, so we rely on tracking my fertility.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Always remember: sperm survives 3-5 days in the vaginal tract and womb. So if you’re ovulating on the 12th, then no insemination from the 7th to the 17th is your safest bet. 9th to the 15th would be the most risky days.

      Jon and I also made a point of washing our hands between sex and going to bed. Call me over-cautious, but sperm does survive outside the body for a while and a night-time itch would carry a risk.

      Like

Comments Always Appreciated. :)

