You don’t “deserve” to escape cubicle hell.

The other day I was watching a few videos about why people left their previous jobs. And it struck me as odd how many people will quit a job because:

-they’re not allowed to compete with their company in their spare time

-they don’t have enough time for their creative, yet underpaid online work, ie blogging or videos

-the work environment had standards and targets they were expected to meet

Of course, some of those are the very reasons I chose to work for myself. Don’t get me wrong: I completely understand the desire to escape cubicle hell, to either never set foot in it or to leave it. But the way so many people of my generation approach this dilemma is entitled, pure and simple.

We’re not talking about people pushing through with work and aspiring to make better of themselves one day, or people quitting their dead-end jobs and pouring out sweat as they get a business started. We’re talking about people moving back in with their parents, going on welfare and begging for blogger handouts because they would rather be parasites than drudges.

And all I can think is: this is not pursuing your dreams. This is believing you have a god-given right to avoid cubicle hell. This is believing you are somehow better than generation upon generation of people who fried chips, scrubbed toilets, swept floors and typed copies, who toiled in mindless jobs to keep food on the table.

It’s all well and good to aspire to leave that environment, or to avoid it. By all means, if you can: do. But you don’t “deserve” to avoid cubicle hell any more than any other person out there. You aren’t special. And if you can’t cut the mustard, then back to the cubicle it is.

Sorry…

…but not really.

In a related note, apparently at some point I was added to the RationalWiki list of secular doormats, probably by the very same special snowflakes who believe they deserve charity to live and blog on. ๐Ÿ˜› I take it as an award.

blog

TTFN and Happy Hunting!

 

For help starting out homemaking, check out The ESSENTIAL Beginner Homemaker’s Guide. For help budgeting all your everday and not-so-everyday essentials, from food to transport to clothes, check out On A Budget: The good homemaker’s guide to economizing.
3 thoughts on “You don’t “deserve” to escape cubicle hell.

  1. Well, as all those many of those who toiled at mindless jobs to keep food on the table sang:

    All the world that’s owned by idle drones is ours and ours alone.
    We have laid the wide foundations; built it skyward stone by stone.
    It is ours, not to slave in, but to master and to own.
    While the union makes us strong.

    There have been plenty of people throughout history, and especially American history, who believed that a men do have a right to escape from worse hells than those found in cubicles. And many believed it to such a degree that they were willing to fight and die for that belief. Don’t act outraged at others for believing that if it was possible to escape from company towns, poverty wages, and many other abuses over a century ago, it should be possible to escape from lesser abuses in a far richer world.

    Liked by 1 person

    • As I said, I’m not too bothered by the desire to leave it. I share the same desire and worked very hard to get out of welfare and, after experience as a TA, avoid ending up in an average office. I get it. But when the “way out” is depending on your parents, the government, blog supporters, even your partner for the basic income you need to survive, whilst providing nothing yourself, then there’s something wrong. That’s not aspiration, that’s entitlement. I’d rather work digging ditches or typing spreadsheets than be on welfare again and I can’t understand why anyone would choose the path of dependence.

      Like

  2. I work for myself because I was driven to it. I took two years to get a graduate job in my qualified field and that job continued to fail to materialise. I had a good job with nice people and a great boss, so it wasn’t a case of wanting to get out of the cubicle for me, but to have a complete fresh start for my divorce.

    In the end, I started applying for anything and everything just to get away from the area where I was living (I wanted to go back to there area where I was born or where I studied my degrees) to make a fresh start. The lack of interviews simply made me think “F*k this sh*t” and quit my job. No regrets, at all ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Comments Always Appreciated. :)

