Jon’s Quiche.

20151206_182046

Jon has changed his mind about quiche from when he insisted it was “an omelet for gay French people”. Apparently when they are homemade they taste better and are now suitable food for a straight English man. 😛

Anyway, here is a quiche made according to what Jon preferred, so maybe it will work for other pickier eaters who normally turn away from fancy food.

Ingredients:

Makes 2 quiches.

Pastry:

  • 500g flour
  • 300g butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 50g cheddar cheese
  • 1tsp smoked paprika
  • 2tsp crushed black pepper
  • 1tsp salt

Filling:

  • 6 eggs
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 4 rashers of smoked bacon or ham
  • 2 sweet onions
  • 1 green pepper
  • 2tsp salt
  • 2tsp crushed black pepper

Utensils:

  • chopping board and knife
  • frying pan
  • 2 greased or nonstick baking trays

Recipe:

  1. Mix together the pastry ingredients, crumbling in the cheese nearer the end.
  2. Mash half the mix into each pan and shape it to the pan, ensuring a robust crust at the corners. Put in the fridge and leave to chill.
  3. Chop the bacon, onions and green pepper and fry lightly. Stir in the salt and black pepper and leave to chill in the fridge.
  4. Preheat the oven at 180C.
  5. Once the pastry is set and the bacon is cold, whisk the milk and eggs together thoroughly. Stir in the bacon mix and pour evenly into both pans. Scooping with a spoon may work better for even distribution.
  6. Place in the oven and cook until the top of the quiche is puffed high and no longer jiggles when shaken.
  7. Leave aside to cool. The top will deflate a bit, but this is normal. It is cooking in its own heat and slowly setting into shape.
  8. Serve cold or hot.

20151206_181912

 

For help starting out homemaking, check out The ESSENTIAL Beginner Homemaker’s Guide. For help budgeting all your everday and not-so-everyday essentials, from food to transport to clothes, check out On A Budget: The good homemaker’s guide to economizing.
6 thoughts on “Jon’s Quiche.

  1. You are as far from me as it is possible for a sentient being to be … assuming your robot-like gender is sentient, which I doubt.

    Check out my website for your polar opposite, girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Believe it or not, I actually do read things like your site. Anything on VivaLaManosphere gets a chance if it looks interesting and I’m a regular lurker and occassional commenter at TRP. Even the things that do not apply to me, or which I disagree with, have merit as long as they have substance behind them. As far as sentience goes, I feel it a lot less under the influence of maternal hormones, but it’s still mostly there.

      I’m not sure I have polar opposites, other than extroverts and SJWs. You have a brain and seem to be more of the ambivert variety, whatever your life angles are, so you’re probably decent conversation. Welcome to my blog if I’m welcome on yours. And before you say so, yes you do need quiche and meat in bread recipes.

      Like

  2. You are going to struggle to find a niche on the feeble basis of recipes, my dear. Women’s World and Chatelaine magazines already do that to death.

    But I do like quiche. Delivered on the knees, while naked, with a red apron dragging on the ground behind you.

    A word about the sentient snipe: I have 3 sisters, and I have listened to literally tens of thousands of women talking around me, on transit, at workplaces, at university at the highest levels, in bars, with hookers and proper girls … and not one has ever expressed an abstract, intelligent thought.

    Just so you know.

    Girl.

    Like

  3. On the OTHER hand … you are trying. In all truth, starting a blog-site is hard work, and takes a lot of positive qualities. I’ve read the boring bitches who have drifted in here, and I pity you for having to deal with their insipidness. As long as you hold my attention, I’ll keep coming back here.

    And I meant what I said about no intelligent thought. But prove me wrong — if you can.

    Like

  4. If any boring bitches/site visitors are reading this, I want you to know you are dealing with an elite “sister” in slaviswife. You should lap up her cunt in submission. I’d like to see that. But I forget — Communist equality and sharing and kissy-kissy is the order of the day among you chicks. Anyway, 3 comments is enough. I must be off. Places to see, things to do in the male style.

    Like

Comments Always Appreciated. :)

