Consumerism and finding direction.

I always had a hard time understanding what I wanted to do with this blog. And it’s because my interests are so divided that no “box” would have me.

How can I explain that I am highly critical of leftwing beliefs, every form of sociology, progressivism, etc, yet I am interested in environmentalism and liberalism?

How can I explain that I am critical of unemployment among women, religion, racial segregation, etc, yet I am focused on traditional and tribal communities?

I am too rude and blunt, too traditional, too forgiving, too irreligious, too deistic, too maternal, too workaholic, too offensive, too liberal, too capitalistic, too easygoing, too unapologetic to belong to anyone.

I want to write about cooking and foraging, babies and freelancing, budgeting and crafting, fitness and diet, relationships and philosophy, whatever strikes me as curious or fun or new.

I guess the one thing that ties every aspect of myself together is my hatred for consumerism and the structures around it. I genuinely despise them. I don’t necessarily hate all the humans involved, but I hate the actual sin. Advertising is offensive to the eye and mind. Minimalism is a lovely goal when it isn’t commercialized and impractical. Poverty can be entirely your own doing without you being responsible for the stupid decisions that caused or preserved it. And I really don’t care what people do in terms of faith, diet, community, surgery, or shopping, so long as it is increasing the wealth of the system or removing themselves from the system, rather than sucking it dry.

So everything I do, my budgeting and DIY, my advocacy for traditional relationships combined with working women, my refusal to accept systems and structures that exploit the workers and enable the dependent, my entire self, seems to be held together by that.

It would be nice to have a community of extreme-leaning centrist, anti-consumerist, realist, relaxed, unemotional people to share this with more closely. But for now I suppose I’ll just continue being offensive to everyone.

4 thoughts on “Consumerism and finding direction.

  1. Your blog is always such a breath of fresh air and very much echoes how I feel – I just wish you were my next door neighbour and we could put the world to rights while knitting and making jam together! 👌

    Like

  2. I’m probably not as left leaning a centrist as you are (or more correctly: I often find that I’m not as liberal leaning as most others who call themselves Liberal Leaning, anyways)… And if I’m being really honest, I’m more Anti-Capitalist as opposed to Anti-Consumerist… But I know the feeling of being a conundrum of a person belonging simultaneously to both sides and yet to neither. And if you’re looking under rocks trying to find more like you,? I’m likewise as curious about where they’re all hiding. Maybe we’ll get along?

    Like

Comments Always Appreciated. :)

